Morning Tour of JBLM Forests

WHEN:   Wednesday, October 10. Carpool leaves Olympia at 8:00 A.M. or Roy at 8:30 A.M.

Tour will be from 9-12.  We will be back to Olympia about 1 P.M.


We'll be seeing an example of a variable density thinning that has been thinned, a VDT that is marked for thinning (oak release emphasis), and a gap-only thin.  We can look at some Ponderosa pine forests, too, if there's time.

WHO:  Ryan Mansfield, Lance Gordon, and Rick Kuykendall

PLEASE NOTE:  An RSVP is NEEDED.  Call Norma at 360-753-1487 to indicate you plan to be on the tour.  JBLM needs to know how many people will be on the base for this tour. 

DIRECTIONS: Carpool from Tumwater Fred Meyer parking lot at 8:00 a.m.

From North:  I-5 south to exit #102; then RIGHT on Trosper Road, then LEFT onto Littlerock Road, then First LEFT into Fred Meyer Parking Lot, LEFT again at 4 way stop sign to NW area of FM parking lot.  Park in ends of rows near WSECU (WA State Employees Credit Union).

From South:  I-5 north to exit # 102; then LEFT onto Trosper Road, LEFT onto Littlerock Road, First LEFT, followed by another LEFT to NW area of Fred Meyer Parking Lot at ends of rows near WA State Employees Credit Union (WSECU)

Or:  Meet the group at the Park and Ride north of Roy (the Roy Y) – on the south side of the intersection of Highways 107 and 7, no later than 8:30 a.m.


Report on September 2018 Meeting

Kent Jones of Resources Contractors LLC owns a 2 acre log yard near Onalaska that buys clear alder that can be sliced into veneer.  About 90% of the veneer is exported, primarily to Russia, Germany, and Asia.  Most of the veneer is used for cabinets and other high quality items.  Kent is also the Southwest Washington procurement manager for a pole company in Bellingham that buys Douglas-fir and cedar for poles.  He shared details on the specifications of the logs he buys and information about how they are processed.

Report on July 2018 Meeting

50 people attended the annual Field Day at Ken and Bonnie Miller's and visited an adjacent piece of property that the Miller's have recently purchased and are trying to plant. Is it a FOOL’S ERRAND or MISSION IMPOSSIBLE?
Ken used a plow to create some raised areas for planting in a typically wet area and has planted a variety of species.  Western white pine seems to be doing well.  He has planted western red cedar and has it protected from deer browse with Vexar.


Report on April 2018 Meeting

John Henrikson presented American Tree Farm System's “My Land Plan”, a free online tool, which can be accessed at  ATFS encourages tree farmers to use this tool to help develop their management plans, but it stops short of being a fully-featured plan that is generally required for certification and cost-share programs. The most useful features are its maps and activity logs.
John has used My Land Plan, which draws on Google Maps, to create electronic maps of the boundaries, roads, trails, and features on his Naselle tree farm. 

He also described 2 other software programs of potential interest to members: GaiaGPS and ArcGIS.


Report on February 2018 Meeting

Mike Warjone of Port Blakely gave a presentation titled "Cross Laminated Timber and The Future of Commercial Wood Construction." He gave a similar talk at the Lewis County Farm Forestry Association meeting in April 2017 and a video of his 29 minute presentation can be viewed here.

Mike believes that more commercial buildings in the future will be built out of wood and fewer from steel because energy is becoming more expensive and it costs much less to build structures from wood than from steel or concrete. Prefabrication construction techniques can be used offsite with CLT wood buildings which means the building can be constructed faster by putting pieces together on site with less negative impact and disruption to the community and also at a lower cost.


Report on January 2018 Meeting

Bruce Alber of Wilbur-Ellis presented information about weed control and the long lasting positive correlation of tree health

Key points from his talk:

  • It is critical to have first year weed control with new seedlings.
  • Early weed control resulted in twice the volume for a 23 year-old plantation verses an untreated area.
  • Weed control results in greater root vigor in early stage seedling growth which also minimizes long term deer browse damage.
  • For best results you need to take out grass and not just the overtopping alder trees in a Doug Fir plantation. There really is no benefit to the young seedling if you do not take out the grass.
  • Broadcast spraying when the trees are dormant is the most effective treatment technique. If you need to spot spray, treating an area at least 3 to 4 feet in diameter is best.
  • Data very clearly shows that preventing weeds early on leads to bigger trees.



Our membership drive continues.  You are all encouraged to approach at least one person for membership.  Our chapter will give a $25 rebate to new members for the first year. Membership Special for 1st time new members: $45 for 1 year, 1 chapter. 

WFFA does a lot more than have meetings.  Maintaining favorable conditions, regulations, and attitudes regarding land ownership requires member participation and vigilance.Contact President Justin Becker: [email protected] or 360-789-8449 or Treasurer Bonnie Miller: 360-705-1888.

South Sound Farm Forestry Association Co-Secretaries: Norma Green, 360 753-1487 and Brian LeTourneau, 360 943-8774


South Sound chapter typically meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month except November and December.

-- January through April and October are educational meetings held in Olympia, usually at the Thurston County Courthouse.  FOOD is provided at 6:30 p.m., Business meeting at 7:00 p.m., followed immediately by program.

-- May through September are field tours at various locations, usually starting at 6:30 p.m.

For more information, contact the chapter president at [email protected]   

Becker drone image July 2018.
Becker drone image July 2018. Many forestry influences seen including conversion pressure, riparian buffer area, hardwood pockets, maple tree dead zones, fire (takes a sharp eye).

Chapter Officers
President Justin Becker
Co-Secretary Norma Green
Co-Secretary Brian LeTourneau
Treasurer Bonnie Miller