Next Meeting: February 20, 2018. Annual Meeting and Dinner

When:  6:30 p.m. dinner, 7:30 p.m. program     

Where:  Oakview Grange, Centralia


Please see newsletter for details and reservation form. 


At the 2017 Awards Banquet on November 14, three tree farmers were recognized for good forest stewardship.  They were:

Tom & Melissa Fagerness, Fagerness Family Tree Farm, for Intensive Management

Luke Moerke, Moerke Land & Timber, for Forest Management

James & Jil Muller for Commercial Thinning.

Steve Webster, retired WSU Forestry Extension Agent, past LCFFA secretary, president, and board member for life, was given the Distinguished Service Award postumously.  He passed away in June 2017. The presentation that was given at the banquet can be viewed online.


Summary of our October 17th meeting

With a series of photos taken over 18 years, Bruce Alber of Wilbur-Ellis Company showed how trees that are free from grass and forb competition for the first couple years after planting, stay ahead for the long term.  He talked about the two times for spraying (site preparation before planting and release after planting) and the chemicals that can be used on different species of plants.  One thing that is especially important for the small landowner doing backpack spraying is the calibration of the equipment so that the herbicide is applied at the correct rate.  He provided a handout with a no-math method of calibration, and another handout with details on types of spraying and chemical to use for different species of plants.  These handouts are available below:

Calibration HandoutSpraying Handout.              


Upcoming Meetings:

No meeting in December.  Happy Holidays.

Next meeting: January 6, 2018


Micheal Hurley, the 2016 Lewis County Tree Farmer of the Year, competed with 2 other nominees for the Washington State Tree Farmer of the Year.  Another nominee was named winner, but a video of Micheal Hurley's tree farm was made and can be viewed here.


At the February 21st Annual Meeting and Dinner, Michelle (Blake) Morgan was named 2017 Lewis County Tree Farmer of the Year.  Devon Powell and Luke Moerke were elected to fill the vacant positions of Vice President and Secretary and Rick Kuykendall and Chuck Higgins were re-elected to their board positions.     


In November 2016, 90 people attended the Awards Banquet at the Veterans Memorial Museum, bought raffle tickets as a fund-raiser for the chapter, and recognized three members for their good stewardship of the land.

Ron Schuttie for Christmas trees

John Henrikson for Innovative Forestry

Paul Hayes for his service in the early years of Lewis County Farm Forestry Association. To view the presentation that was given, click here.


Bill Logan, the 2015 Lewis County Tree Farmer of the Year, was nominated for 2016 Washington State Tree Farmer of the Year.  That title was given to another nominee, but a video of his tree farm was prepared and can be viewed here.


The Lewis County Farm Forestry Association meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month, except December.

Educational meetings are held in the Lewis County Courthouse basement conference room in January, March, April, May, and October at 7 p.m.

Twilight tours are held in June, July, August and September at 6:30 p.m.

Two dinner meetings are held at other locations: the Awards Banquet in November and the Annual Meeting in February.

For further information contact the President at [email protected]


Gloria the grouse always finds Sam on his tree farm
Gloria the grouse always finds Sam on his tree farm
Chapter Officers
President Derek Burger  
Vice-President Devon Powell  
Secretary Luke Moerke  
Treasurer Norma Green  
East Board Member Rick Kuykendall  
West Board Member Chuck Higgins  
North Board Member Ken Lentz  
South Board Member Charles Coddington